The Ray Bradbury Challenge: Day 646

Short story: Diary of an Asscan by Andy Weir. Recommended.

Poem: Who are my People? by Rosa Zagnoni Marinoni, listened to on the Voice Before the Void podcast. Recommended.

Essay: Know Thyself – Two Unloved Platonic Dialogues, listened to on the History of Philosophy podcast, from February 2011. Recommended.

What is the Ray Bradbury Challenge?

Announcing: The Gibson Continuum and Other Stories

In these ten short stories, ghosts of 1980s nostalgia haunt a young man searching for the essence of cyberpunk; sentient AIs respond to the death of the last human; a cleaner on Titan Orbiter becomes embroiled in a workers’ revolution; and a man figures out he can live forever by gaming subjective time.

Ranging from a portrait of a dystopian future where institutionalised cannibalism is commonplace to a post-Earth solar system where pirates fight against copyrighted seeds and unaffordable medicines, Jon Cronshaw’s poignant tales reflect on themes of technology, memory, love, and madness with startling imagination.

The Gibson Continuum and Other Stories is a thought-provoking collection examining what it means to be human — perfect for fans of William Gibson, Bruce Sterling, Samuel R. Delany, and Robert A. Heinlein.

Click HERE to buy today.

Cory Doctorow – The Man Who Sold the Moon (2014)

Cory Doctorow‘s novella The Man Who Sold the Moon was first published in the 2014 anthology Hieroglyph: Stories and Visions for a Better Future, edited by Ed Finn.

The Man Who Sold the Moon is a near-future story about the potential of 3D printing and the fun that can be had at Burning Man.

Have you read this story? What did you think?

Follow the podcast on Twitter @ShortSFReview and if you enjoy the show, please take a moment to leave a review on iTunes.

 

51vblvfukzl-_sy344_bo1204203200_