Announcing: The Gibson Continuum and Other Stories

In these ten short stories, ghosts of 1980s nostalgia haunt a young man searching for the essence of cyberpunk; sentient AIs respond to the death of the last human; a cleaner on Titan Orbiter becomes embroiled in a workers’ revolution; and a man figures out he can live forever by gaming subjective time.

Ranging from a portrait of a dystopian future where institutionalised cannibalism is commonplace to a post-Earth solar system where pirates fight against copyrighted seeds and unaffordable medicines, Jon Cronshaw’s poignant tales reflect on themes of technology, memory, love, and madness with startling imagination.

The Gibson Continuum and Other Stories is a thought-provoking collection examining what it means to be human — perfect for fans of William Gibson, Bruce Sterling, Samuel R. Delany, and Robert A. Heinlein.

Click HERE to buy today.

Nnedi Okorafor – Binti (2015)

Nnedi Okorafor‘s novella Binti was first published by Tor.com in 2015.

Binti tells the story of a sixteen-year-old who leaves her tribe to embark on a trip to a university in a different part of the galaxy.

Have you read this story? What did you think? Join in the discussion on Twitter @shortsfreview or by leaving a comment below.

You can subscribe to the Short Science Fiction Review on iTunes HERE.

Binti (Binti, #1)Binti by Nnedi Okorafor
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
View all my reviews

M. John Harrison – Tourism (2004)

M. John Harrison’s short story Tourism was first published in 2004. I read this in the Mammoth Book of New SF, Eighteenth Annual Edition, edited by Gardner Dozois.

Tourism is a bizarre space opera story which gives a brief glimpse into a bar on a far-off planet.

Have you read it? What did you think? Join in the discussion on Twitter @shortsfreview or leave a comment below.

If you enjoy these shows, please leave a review on your favourite podcast portal.

You can subscribe to the Short Science Fiction Review on iTunes HERE.

Mike Resnick – Observation Post (2013)

Mike Resnick‘s short story Observation Post was first published in the 2013 anthology Beyond the Sun, edited by Bryan Thomas Schmidt.

Observation Post is a comedy about an aliens observing Earth through intercepted TV show footage.

Have you read this story? What did you think? Join in the discussion on Twitter @ShortSFreview or leave a comment below.

You can subscribe to the Short Science Fiction Review on iTunes HERE.

beyond_the_sun_front_cover

Yoon Ha Lee – Flower, Mercy, Needle, Chain (2010)

Yoon Ha Lee‘s short story Flower, Mercy, Needle, Chain was first published in the September 2010 editor of Lightspeed Magazine. I read this story in The Year’s Best Science Fiction 28, edited by Gardner Dozois.

Flower, Mercy, Needle, Chain tells the story of a female assassin in possession of an incredible weapon that allows her to eliminate her victim’s entire ancestral line. It’s a deep philosophical tale which the author uses to explore issues of free will and determinism.

Have you read it? What did you think? Join in the discussion on Twitter @ShortSFreview.

If you’re enjoying these shows, please take a moment to leave a review on iTunes and share one the episode links on your preferred social network.

You can subscribe to the Short Science Fiction Review on iTunes HERE.

 

years_best_sf_cover_28

Alastair Reynolds – Slow Bullets (2015)

Alastair Reynolds‘s novella Slow Bullets was published in 2015 by Tachyon Press.

Slow Bullets is a space opera based around the themes of identity and memory.

Have you read it? What did you think? Join in the discussion on Twitter @shortsfreview.

You can subscribe to the Short Science Fiction Review on iTunes HERE.

 

23013875

George R. R. Martin – The Way of Cross and Dragon (1979)

George R. R. Martin‘s short story The Way of Cross and Dragon was first published in the June 1979 issue of Omni magazine.

The Way of Cross and Dragon tells the story of a far-future inquisitor investigating a heresy which venerates Judas Iscariot. But things aren’t quite what they seem.

The story has been reprinted numerous times, I read it in the 1992 collection The Oxford Book of Science Fiction Stories, edited by Tom Shippey.

Have you read it? What did you make of the story? Let me know below in the comment section, or get in touch on Twitter @ShortSFreview.

You can subscribe to the Short Science Fiction Review on iTunes HERE.

 

51japwcjz7l-_sy344_bo1204203200_